Future Thinking: I think I want to be a Photo Art Director

lookingtowardfuture

Don’t get me wrong I love being a photo stylist, but sometimes I think I could do more.
It’s a little weird that as I have been wondering what else I could do in my field, one of my models and one of my Make-up Artists said that I would make a good Art Director. So it got me thinking, could I take on that role? I think I can, but then I am not sure how to even get started working towards such a goal!

I have a BS in Fashion Merchandising and a MBA, I am also the lead stylist at a studio. But I mostly work on e-commerce and I occasionally work on some concept and marketing pieces. I feel that I lack the graphic design creative background a lot of art directors have. I am somewhat knowledgeable in Adobe Photoshop and InDesign, Which, I mostly learned from watching and talking to my retouchers and photographers, watching youtube videos and just by exploring these programs.

I also work with a lot of Art Directors and I think I could do very well as a Fashion Photo Art Director. It’s just getting my foot in that door and training myself for such a role, that I am unsure of.

If there are any photo art directors out there, advice would be greatly appreciated on attempting and making this goal a responsibility. I might not be made for it, but I would rather fail than not try at all.  😀

If you actually read this, thank you 😀

Signature

Leave a comment